Australia-India Council Board members announced


By SAT News Desk

MELBOURNE, 31 August 2020: Mr. Ashok Jacob has been reappointed as Chair and will be joined by three new Australia-India Council (AIC) Board Members: the Hon Lisa Singh, who will serve as Deputy Chair, the Hon Ted Baillieu AO, and Mr. Matthew Hayden AM. The names were announced today by Senator The Hon Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Women, says a media statement e-mailed to SAT today.

The AIC programs and activities are used by the Australian Government’s “second-track diplomacy” conducted in parallel to and in support of, government-government- contacts and exchanges with India.

Mr. Jacob has served with distinction as Chair of the Council since 2014, and is the Executive Chairman of Ellerston Capital, with more than 33 years of investment experience, including with India.

Ms. Singh represented Tasmania in the Federal Senate from 2010 to 2019. In 2014, the President of India conferred on her the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman award for exceptional and meritorious public service as a person of Indian heritage in fostering friendly relations between India and Australia.

Mr. Baillieu was Premier of Victoria from 2010 to 2013 and a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly from 1999 to 2014. Mr. Baillieu is the recipient of the 2013 Ashoka Medal from the Australia India Business Council Victoria in recognition of his contribution to Australia-India relations.

Mr. Hayden is a former international cricketer who played 103 Tests for Australia and scored 30 centuries. Mr. Hayden was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for service to cricket in 2010. He has been a Board Member of the Institute for Australia India Engagement since 2018.

The Australia-India Council (AIC) was established by the Australian Government in May 1992 to broaden and deepen Australia-India relations through contacts and exchanges in a range of fields that promote mutual awareness and understanding. The AIC is a non-statutory body with a Chairman and a Board appointed by the Government on a part-time basis for three years.

Leave a Reply