New Hindu temples body in Australia


By SAT News Desk

MELBOURNE, 23 March 2021: Hindu temples across Australia have come together and set up the ‘Australian Hindu Temples Council’ (AHTC). “The aim of the AHTC is to preserve, promote and advocate the values of Hinduism and the essence of Hindu temples in Australia, in line with the multi-cultural ethos of Australia.

The Council aims to have a united voice to represent the collective views of the Hindu temple community in Australia,” a media release says.

Talking to SAT the current Convener of the Council Karthik Arasu said, ” The Council is Australia wide though in the newly elected committee all are from Victoria.

We have our 18 temples as members from Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, etc. and our constitution is almost ready,” he said.

According to the media release the following pro-tem managing committee has been elected on 14 March 2021:

President – Kulwant Joshi (President – Sri Durga Temple Rockbank)
Vice President – Balasubramaniam Rangarajan (President – Shri Shiva Vishnu Temple Carrum Downs)
Secretary – Shanmugaratnam Pillai (Secretary – Sri Vakrathunda Vinayagar Temple Basin)
Joint Secretary – Eswarampillai Vimalanathan (Secretary – Kundrathu Kumaran Temple Deanside)
Treasurer- Biren Joshi (President – SMVS Swaminarayan Temple, Tarneit)”
Joint Treasurer- Ramesh Rao (Patron – Sri Venkata Krishna Brundavana Melbourne)

Pro-tem committee with Karthik Arasu. Photo-Supplied

Comments are closed.