200 days-to-go until ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 as prominent figures show their support

ICC T20 World Cup Photo Opportunity
Photo: ICC Woman’s T20 World Cup 2020

By SAT News Desk

MELBOURNE, 5 August: The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 is fast approaching, with 200 days-to-go until the opening match, in which hosts Australia take on India at Sydney Showground Stadium on Friday 21 February.

In 2020, Australia will host two ICC T20 World Cups, with the women’s (21 February – 8 March) and men’s (18 October – 5 November) tournaments to be played as standalone events across the country.

Both events will culminate in finals at the world’s largest cricket stadium, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, presenting an opportunity to set a new world record for the highest attendance at a women’s sporting fixture on Sunday 8 March 2020, International Women’s Day.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Local Organising Committee is delighted to announce that leaders from across Australia have pledged their support as ‘2020 Champions’, each helping to inspire people to take part and continue the positive momentum in sport for women and girls.

The first wave of ‘2020 Champions’ represents a broad cross-section of the Australian community, all of whom share a passion for the power of sport to inspire positive change.

Speaking about the ‘2020 Champions’ program, ICC T20 World Cup Local Organising Committee CEO, Nick Hockley said;
“The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is an opportunity to showcase equality through sport on the global stage.

“We’ve seen at the recent FIFA Women’s World Cup and ICC Cricket World Cup what a powerful and uniting force major sporting events can be and we are humbled to have such inspirational leaders join together to help maximise the positive impact of Australia 2020.

“We look forward to welcoming our 2020 Champions and the broader community at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in just 200 days’ time.”

‘2020 Champions’ who have pledged their support so far:

Alex Blackwell: ICC T20 World Cup winning Captain
Ann Sherry AO: Chair, UNICEF Australia
Bronwyn Klei: CEO, Netball South Australia
Carol Fox: President, Women Sport Australia
Christina Matthews: CEO, Western Australian Cricket Association
Christine McLoughlin: Chair and Co-Founder Minerva Network
Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO: Former Governor-General of Australia
Diana Chan: Former winner, Masterchef
Dipen Rughani: CEO, Newland Global Group
Dr Bridie O’Donnell: Director, Victorian Office for Women in Sport and Recreation
General Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC: Former Governor-General of Australia
Giles Gunesekera: Founder and CEO of Global Impact Initiative
Gönül Serbest: CEO, Global Victoria
Gus Worland: Founder of Gotcha4Life
Jodie Fields: ICC T20 World Cup winning Captain
Jodie Hawkins: General Manager, Sydney Sixers
Justin Langer AM: Head Coach, Australian Men’s Cricket Team
Kate Jenkins: Australian Sex Discrimination Commissioner
Kate Palmer AM: CEO, Sport Australia
Kath Koschel: Former cricketer, Founder, The Kindness Factory
Kerrie Mather: CEO, Sydney Cricket and Sports Grounds
Lisa Sthalekar: Former Australian player and T20 World Cup winner; cricket commentator
Liz Broderick AO: UN Special Rapporteur and Independent Expert on discrimination against women, Founder Male Champions of Change
Marne Fechner: CEO, Netball Australia
Mary Konstantopoulos: Founder, Ladies Who Leg Spin
Mel Jones OAM: Former Australian player and cricket commentator
Patrick Delany: CEO, Foxtel
Preeti Daga: Vice President Victoria, Australia India Business Council
Sheba Nandkeolyar: Co-Founder, CEO MultiConnexions Group
Sonia Sadiq Gandhi: Director, Gandhi Creations
Suzy Nicoletti: Managing Director, Twitter Australia

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 links:
Official website: t20worldcup.com
Buy women’s tickets and register for men’s tickets: tickets.t20worldcup.com
Women’s fixtures: https://www.icc-cricket.com/t20-world-cup/womens-fixtures
Men’s fixtures: https://www.icc-cricket.com/t20-world-cup/mens-fixtures


Comments are closed.