Tag: Federation of Indian Associations of Victoria

New FIAV leadership takes office

Sury Prakash Soni & Gurucharan Singh Gandhok. Photos: FIAV

By SAT News Desk

MELBOURNE, 6 January 2021: The new leadership of the Federation of Indian Associations of Australia (FIAV) has taken office. A media release emailed to SAT on Jan 5, 2021, says the following were elected by the FIAV AGM held on December 12, 2021, at Museum India, Dandenong:

Mr. Sury Prakash Soni, President; Mr. Gurucharan Singh Gandhok, Vice President; Ms. Usha Gulapalli, Vice President; Mr. Pradeep Gaur, Treasurer; Dr. Reena Dubey, Asst. Treasurer; Mr. Pritom Dutta, General Secretary;
Ms. Sanchita Abrol, Asst. Secretary; Ms. Rashmi Gore, Committee Member, Mr. Gandhi Bevinakoppa, Committee Member and Mr. Sudharsan Sritharan, Committee Member.

“We sincerely thank all committee members and member organizations for their continued community service over the years. The new committee looks forward to working closely with community leaders, state and federal government for benefit of the Indian diaspora in Victoria, ” the media release says.

Source- FIAV media release, Jan 5, 2021.

Thomas Joseph is new FIAV President

Photo: SAT/NN

By Neeraj Nanda
Ballarat, 24 Aug: Mr. Thomas Joseph was today elected President of the Federation of Indian Associations of Victoria (FIAV) at the AGM held here. He is from the La Trobe Indian Association. The outgoing President Mr. Vasan Srinivasan, who led the Indian umbrella organisation in Victoria for five years, will remain member of the FIAV Trust along with four others.
The outgoing President detailed the activities of the FIAV and explained the plan to setup an aged care facility near Dandenong. The 60 beds Indian specific aged facility is likely to cost around $ 16 million. The announcement of the facility and its funding plans are likely to be announced before the November elections in Victoria, Mr. Vasan said.
He also explained the recent opening of the Indian Museum at Little India, Dandenong and its expansion plans.
The newly elected President Thomas Joseph pledged to expand FIAV work and unite the Indian community towards common goals.
The following were elected office bearers of the Federation of Indian Associations of Victoria (FIAV) at the AGM held at Ballarat:
President: Thomas Joseph; 2 Vice Presidents – Sharad Gupta & Sudesh Singh; Secretary – Jitender Kumar; Treasurer – Ambrish Deshmukh; Surya P. Soni & Supriya were elected to 2 other posts.
Co-opted members – Usha (Editorial), Goldy Barar(Youth & Sports), Kazween(Woman’s Affairs), Vernon(Membership), Mokika Raizada(Events), Usha (Seniors Affairs) & Krishna Arora (Catering). They will head the respective subcommittees.


- SAT News Service.