Tag: Khawaja

Bharat Army cheering India to victory at MCG

By Shobhit Nanda

Melbourne: The Bharat Army was out in force on Day 4 of boxing day test match between India vs Australia at the MCG. The entertainment was on with regular banter, drums and a lot of enthusiastic slogans. An interesting bantar in the form of a song was performed when Australia’s number 3 batsman, Usman Khawaja, resumed his innings after lunch.  As he walked out of the dugout, the Bharat army started singing in hindi – “Khawaja mere Khawaja, Jaldi Wapas Aaaja” which translates to “Khawaja my Khawaja, come back quickly (by getting out)”, twisting the words of a song in the famous Bollywood movie – Jodha Akabar. Khawaja who is of Pakistani decent would have been able to understand hindi as it is very similar to Urdu, the native language of Pakistan. Khawaja did not last long in the middle, as he was found himself out leg before wicket by a skidding delivery from Indian bowler Shami, plumb in front.


Australia has a mountain to climb, chasing 399 in their 2nd innings to win  or play rest of Day 4 and Day 5 to draw the game.  Both days have rain predicted and the Aussies will be hoping for some rain to help their cause as there is so much time left in the game and the wicket will keep breaking up to make the lives of the batsman harder. It would require some batting for the Aussies to prevent an Indian victory.

bharat_army1India in the morning came out with intent to score some quick runs before declaring, after losing 5 wickets in the last session on Day 3. They had the choice of enforcing the followon on Day 3 but made a choice not to, to ensure Australia bats last on the deteriorating wicket. Rishab Pant (33) and Mayank Pandey (42) did the bulk of the scoring in the morning session to take the second innings score to 106/6 before the declaration about 1 hour into the first session.


At drinks during the second session, Australia were 3/95, still requiring 304 additional runs for an improbable victory.


Ahmad, Khawaja, Sandhu in Australia’s W. Indies, UK and India tours


By SAT Sports Desk

Melbourne, 31 March: Cricket Australia’s (CA) National Selection Panel today announced squads for the upcoming Test tours of the West Indies and the United Kingdom. The panel has also announced the 2015-16 list of CA contracted players and squads to represent Australia A in four-day and one-day cricket against India A in India throughout July.
Fawad Ahmed gets the nod as second spinner for Test tours of the West Indies and the Ashes. Ahmed, 33, who helped steer Victoria to Sheffield Shield victory, was the competition’s leading wicket-taker with 48 wickets at 24.85, including a record-breaking 8-89 in the first innings of the Shield final against Western Australia at Blundstone Arena.
Ahmed, granted Australian citizenship in 2013 played three one-day internationals and two T20 internationals on Australia’s tour of the UK later that year.
Australia will face the West Indies in Test matches at Windsor Park, Dominica (5-9 June) and Sabina Park, Jamaica (13-17 June), before travelling to the UK for the five Test Ashes Series beginning at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (8-12 July).
According to CA Australia’s Frank Worrell Trophy/Ashes squad:
Michael Clarke (c), Steve Smith (vc), Fawad Ahmed, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris (Ashes only), Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Nevill, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson Victorian leg spinner Fawad Ahmed has got the nod ahead of Ashton Agar as Australia’s second spinner in their Test squad for the tours of the West Indies and the UK for the Ashes.
Australia A squads to face India A
The four-day squad is Usman Khawaja (c) QLD, Matthew Wade (vc) VIC, Ashton Agar WA, Cameron Bancroft WA, Joe Burns QLD, Patrick Cummins NSW, Andrew Fekete TAS, Peter Handscomb VIC, Travis Head SA, Nic Maddinson NSW, Glenn Maxwell VIC,Stephen O’Keefe NSW, Gurinder Sandhu NSW and Marcus Stoinis VIC.

The One-Day squad for India :
Usman Khawaja (c) QLD, Matthew Wade (vc) VIC, Sean Abbott NSW , Ashton Agar WA, Cameron Boyce QLD, Joe Burns QLD, Nathan Coulter-Nile WA, Patrick Cummins NSW, Callum Ferguson SA, Peter Handscomb VIC, Travis Head SA, Chris Lynn QLD, Gurinder Sandhu NSW and Adam Zampa SA.

- SAT News Service