India vs Australia – Game 1 Rolling Moments

FINAL: India 151 All out lose the game by 65 runs. They never really recovered from the twin strikes by Starc of Kholi and then Rohit. Raina departed not much later and it was left to Dhoni and Jadega to get the remaining runs at over 10 runs an over. With 5 wickets down before the 100 was up winning was always going to require a captains innings which did not eventuate. Wade was declared Man of the Match.

9.34PM:  India 77/5, 14.2 overs – Wicket – Raina (4 off 9 balls) out to Christian caught by David Hussey. Another blow for India and now Dhoni needs to play a captains innings to win this one. Jadega who got picked ahead of Shewag also has a golden chance to cement his place in the teams lineup.

9.10PM: India 65/4, 11.4 overs – Wicket – Rohit Sharma (21 off 21 balls) now departs caught behind. Twin blow by McKay. India on the back foot as Dhoni comes in to join Raina.

9.08PM: India 64/3, 11.2 overs – Wicket – Virat Kholi (31 off 34 balls) out caught by Ponting in cover. Big wicket for Australia as they have broken the 50 run partnership that threatened to take the game away.

8.35PM: India 13/2, 3.2 overs – Wicket – Gautam Gambhir (5 runs off 8 balls) pokes at a short one and nicks it to the keeper off Starc’s bowling. Now the pressure is on Kholi and Rohit – India’s young guns. Indians need a consolidation period and cannot afford to lose more wickets. They also need to keep an eye on the run rate required which is nudging over 7 runs per over.

8.20PM: India 9/1, 1.5 overs – Wicket – Sachin (2 runs off  6 balls) plays the drive upishly and is taken brilliantly by Ponting on the bowling of Starc .

8.15PM: India 0/0, 0 overs – India need to chase 217 runs as per the D/L method. They have opened with Gautam Gambhir and Sachin Tendulkar. Good choice given Ghambir was the match winner in the last game and hence the inform opener.

7.45PM: Australia  216/5, 32 overs – End of innings with Daniel Christen 17* off 16 balls and David Hussey 61* off 30 balls. Australia scored 30 runs in the last 3 overs to take the advantage away from India. Indians will have thir work cut out chasing at a required run rate of 6.75 runs an over. They will no doubt look for a solid opening partnership from their openers and hope to not lose early wickets. They will also look to their Twenty20 win on friday and play a similar style run chase.

7.16PM: Australia  154/5, 26.1 overs – Wicket – Michael Hussey 45 runs off only 32 balls falls to Vinay Kumar caught in the deep by Kohli.

7.10PM: Australia 150/4, 25.2 overs – Hussey brothers (Michael 44*, David 19*) combine as Australia reaches 150runs in 153 balls.

6.50PM: Australia 122/4, 23 overs – Wicket –  Wade out on 67 as Rohit strikes again to keep Australia in check.

6.30PM: Australia 39/3, 14.4 overs – Wicket –   Michael Clarke out caught in the deep on Rohit Sharma’s part time spin. Dhoni’s gamble works.

6.18PM: Australia 35/2, 11 overs – Play resumes with Kholi in the attack and overs reduced to 32 overs per side.

MCG 5th Feb 3.15PM

6.00PM: Australia 35/2, 11 overs – Swami Army keeps MCG entertained as covers come off.

3.08PM: Australia 35/2, 11 overs – Wade hits a 6 and then a 4 off Vinay Kumar as the forcasted thunderstorms hit the MCG. Heavy rain now and players are off the field, covers are on.

2.55PM: Australia 19/2, 7.5 overs – Wicket – Ricky Ponting bowled by Vinay Kumar. Another wicket for the young paceman taking the ex-Australian captain and putting India on top. Out comes Clarke.

2.45PM: Australia 15/1, 5.1 overs – Wicket – David Warner bowled by Vinay Kumar. Ricky Ponting arrives at the crease to a generous applause by the crowd.

2.40PM:Australia 11/0, 4 overs – Tentative start with only 11 runs off 4 overs – a run rate of only 2.75 runs an over.

Australian Team -  David Warner, Matthew Wade (wk), Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (captain), David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Daniel Christian, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty.

Indian Team - Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni (captain & wk) Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Rahul Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar.

2PM Toss - Dhoni wins the toss and puts Australia into bat first in overcast conditions in Melbourne. No doubt Dhoni wants to replicate his winning strategy in the last Twenty20 game on friday by putting pressure on Australia on the field.

Game 1 – 5th February, 2012 – Day Night- Australia vs India @ MCG

Comments are closed.