GC2018 hockey tournament schedule announced: India & Pakistan in same men’s pool

Gold Coast Hockey Centre

By SAT Sports Desk

MELBOURNE, 28 November: South Asian neighbors India and Pakistan are in the same Pool B of the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018) Hockey competition announced today following the unveiling of the competition pools at the Gold Coast Hockey Centre. India had won Silver medals in the 2010 and the 2014 men’s tournaments. Pakistan won Silver in 2006 and Bronze in the 2010 men’s tournaments.

Sanctioned by the International Hockey Federation (FIH), today’s announcement saw the 10 competing nations for both men’s and women’s Hockey competitions divided into two pools of five based on their FIH World Rankings.

Teams have been divided into pools in a snaking pattern from the top-seeded nation down to the 10th-seeded nation in order to evenly spread competing nations across both pools.

Each team will play every other team within their pool during the preliminary round matches from 5-11 April 2018 before the top two teams in each pool advance to the semi-final and medal matches from 12-14 April 2018 (see attached graphics for GC2018 Hockey Schedule 5-14 April 2018).


International Hockey Federation (FIH) CEO Jason McCracken says, “We would like to congratulate all of the teams on their qualification for the 2018 Commonwealth Games. Today’s announcement will undoubtedly boost excitement for both teams and fans who now know who they will battle to qualify for the knock-out stages of the competition.

“The Commonwealth Games is a key event in the Hockey calendar for many of these nations. With so many world-class teams involved, plus an exceptional venue for our sport, hockey will be showcased at its best in the Gold Coast next April.

“The sport and its fans are certainly looking forward to what is set to be an outstanding event.”

Each team will comprise a maximum of 18 athletes, with a total of 360 athletes participating in the GC2018 Hockey Competition.

Hockey was first included in the Commonwealth Games sports program at the 1998 Games in Kuala Lumpur and is classified as a core sport that must be included on the program of each Games.


Medal Tally – Men

Australia: Gold – 5 (1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014)
India: Silver – 2 (2010, 2014)
Malaysia: Silver – 1 (1998), Bronze – 1 (2006)
Pakistan: Silver – 1 (2006), Bronze – 1 (2002)
New Zealand: Silver – 1 (2002), Bronze – 1 (2010)
England: Bronze – 2 (1998, 2014)

Medal Tally – Women

Australia: Gold – 4 (1998, 2006, 2010, 2014), Bronze – 1 (2002)
India: Gold – 1 (2002)
England: Silver – 3 (1998, 2002, 2014), Bronze – 2 (2006, 2010)
New Zealand: Bronze – 2 (1998, 2014)

Source: medianet

Comments are closed.